Another Pathetic Apology

Once again, I find myself composing a Great Books Monday post without quite having finished the readings from the previous week. Our move is this week, and I must beg readers’ continuing patience. This time around, Herodotus is the culprit. As I did last week, I’ll go ahead and post this week’s readings today and my observations on last week’s readings tomorrow.

  1. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe, Chapter XVIII-XX* (GGB Vol. 2, pp. 113-121)
  2. The Histories of Herodotus, Book VIII (GBWW Vol. 5, pp. 360-387)
  3. Plato’s Republic, Book I (GBWW Vol. 6, pp. 295-310)
  4. Federalist #43 (GBWW Vol. 40, pp. 139-144; Antifederalist responses are here)
  5. The Sand-Reckoner” by Archimedes (GBWW Vol. 10, pp. 520-526)
  6. Goethe’s Faust” by George Santayana (GGB Vol. 10, pp. 391-419; Ch. 4 of Three Philosophical Poets)

*The GGB set contains only 117 pages of excerpts from Robinson Crusoe. I plan to read the whole novel, but if you wish to stick with Adler, read the following excerpts from the linked chapters: Chapter XVIII: paragraph beginning “It now occurred to me . . .” to the end; Chapter XIX: paragraphs 1-6; Chapter XX: omit.

We bid farewell to Robinson Crusoe this week and are nearing the end of Herodotus’s Histories. I’ve made the readings a bit lighter than usual to increase the odds of my being able to post on time next Monday after the move . . .

Happy Independence Day to all the Americans out there!

About Dr. J

I am Professor of Humanities at Faulkner University, where I chair the Department of Humanities and direct online M.A. and Ph.D. programs based on the Great Books of Western Civilization. I am also Associate Editor of the Journal of Faith and the Academy and a member of the faculty at Liberty Classroom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Pathetic Apology

  1. Dan says:

    http://www.american-buddha.com/the.slit.htm#THE SLIT, this is an online copy of The Immense Journey. I am not sure which essay is the one called “On Time”, but looking at the description on the next page, I believe it is The Slit.

Leave a Reply

